I AM PATIENT

I Am Patient

I’ve never been one to salivate

After accolades and exalted seats.

I’ve never yarned to be a role model 

But if I am to become one 

It’ll be of Patience.
I am not talking about

The grammar plundering one

The one whose atrocities 

No court could stand

She broke no civil or criminal laws

She only broke our hearing.
I am talking of the one domiciled

In the P section of my dictionary.

The very elusive one 

That you have to practice to find.
I am patient.

My patience is the type

That prefers beans to rice

My patience has seen me

Languish on the friend zone

Six months too long

But at least I got the prize.
I am patient

Enough not to switch lanes

When caught in a go slow.

I wait.

The clear path will come,

I will coast on it.
I don’t mind the traffic,

Home is assured.

I don’t mind the waiting,

Beans is awesome.

I don’t mind the zone,

She is gorgeous 

I don’t mind patience

When the result is assured.
Don’t however tell me to wait

Don’t preach to me about going slow

When no one knows 

If he’ll capitulate

Or revitalise. 
The least I can beg of him is to move fast.

I do not ask him to break the speed limit

I only ask that he moves.
My flesh Burns and the clinic

Is stationary.

My heart aches and the critic

Is revolutionary. 

If he must go slow,

Let him. 

But don’t preach patience

To the man who burns.

Don’t seal the lips

Of the critic who taunts.
Baba, move

Don’t break the limits

But endeavour to match it

We’ve waited long enough.
Thank God our cards 

Are now made of plastic

It is strong enough 

For the 4 year wait.
(C) Innocent

Leave a Reply

