IN MADIBA’S SHOES

Some eyes have seen

What many others haven’t seen

Some ears have heard

What many others wouldn’t hear…

Some hearts have ached

How many others can’t imagine!
In those days of solitude 

And unnecessary attitudes

I was broken body and soul

I was beaten inside and out…

But my heart was rock-solid – 

The battle I fought within

My people fought outside.
Now that many waters 

have passed under the bridge

Now that my back is stronger than ridge

You talk of freedom

Giving me my kingdom.
With what strength would I stand and rule?

With what voice would I speak again?

27 years of my youthful days

27 x 360 days of my usefulness

Spent in your wilderness

For your constant bitterness.
Who ever thought you could negotiate

That our tears could bring you fears

When all we asked was EQUAL RIGHTS

Your people thought we asked too much

And must atone our sins with blood…

So like the heavens apart from Hell

We were banished from roaming our land…

But little did they know …

He who is down fears no fall.
I have lost my youthful years

Kins and all my useful friends…

Now you ask I stop the war

When the fire burns inside you

I am Madiba

My people remember.
Only Freedom can stop this war

Freedom alone can break our wall:

Freedom to count for humanity

Freedom as strong as immunity…
Yet, my President!

Do not stand by my side

Declaring me free after my freedom

Do not stand by my side

Telling the world about my kingdom

My President

Just open the prison gates 

And let me walk away.
In loving memory of the Great Madiba!
Angel Dee (C) August 2016.

Leave a Reply

